Apprenticeships allow you to combine work and study by mixing on-the-job training with classroom learning. You'll be employed to do a real job while studying for a formal qualification, usually for one day a week either at a college or a training centre.


By the end of your apprenticeship, you'll hopefully have gained the skills and knowledge needed to either succeed in your chosen career or progress onto the next apprenticeship level.

What you'll learn depends on the role that you're training for. However, apprentices in every role follow an approved study programme, which means you'll gain a nationally-recognised qualification at the end of your apprenticeship.

There are four different levels of apprenticeship:

  • Intermediate - equivalent to five good GCSE passes.

  • Advanced - equivalent to two A-level passes.

  • Higher - equivalent to the first stages of higher education, such as a foundation degree.

  • Degree - comparable to a Bachelors or Masters degree. Find out more at degree apprenticeships.


Apprenticeship level structures vary across different countries in the UK. If you aren't based in England, see Apprenticeships in Wales,  Apprenticeships in Scotland or NI Direct Apprenticeships for more information.

As each type of apprenticeship offers a different-levelled qualification on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF), their entry requirements will vary. Generally speaking, they are as follows:

  • To apply for an intermediate apprenticeship, you'll just need to be over 16 years old and no longer in full-time education.

  • For an advanced apprenticeship, you're likely to be asked for prior work experience and at least three A*-C or 9-4 grade GCSEs or equivalent - such as an intermediate apprenticeship qualification.

  • As higher apprenticeships are the equivalent of a foundation degree, HNC or first year of a Bachelors, you'll usually need at least five A*-C or 9-4 grade GCSEs, as well as some Level 3 qualifications in relevant subjects, to apply. Your Level 3 qualifications could be AS-levels, a BTEC National or a level 3 NVQ.

  • Degree apprenticeships will have the tightest entry requirements. These may include three A-levels in a specified grade range or a higher apprenticeship qualification, on top of at least five A*-C or 9-4 GCSE grades. It's likely you'll be required to have prior work experience.


If you’re an employer with a pay bill over £3 million each year, you must pay the apprenticeship levy from 6 April 2017. Read guidance on how to pay the apprenticeship levy. You will report and pay your levy to HMRC through the PAYE process.


All UK employers with a pay bill of over £3 million per year pay the apprenticeship levy. The levy is set at 0.5% of the value of the employer’s pay bill, minus an apprenticeship levy allowance of £15,000 per financial year. The funds generated by the levy have to be spent on apprenticeship training costs. The government tops ups the funds paid by the employer by 10%.


Non-levy paying employers will share the cost of training and assessing their apprentices with government - this is called ‘co-investment’. From May 2017, you will pay 10% towards to the cost of apprenticeship training and government will pay the rest (90%), up to the funding band maximum.

There are two different types of apprenticeship schemes, frameworks and standards. Apprenticeship frameworks are being progressively phased out and replaced by the newer apprenticeship standards, which were introduced in 2014.

The standards were introduced as part of the UK Government’s major apprenticeship reforms.


The reforms were designed to generate apprenticeship funding, increase the number of starts, and give employers more control. The new standards put power in the hands of the employer as they’re involved in both the design and delivery of the new standards. Employers can also apply to be an employer-provider to deliver their own apprenticeship training.

The standards include some major differences – like the new end-point assessment and grading system.

Employer Contribution Changes

From the 1st April 2019 the 10% fee that small businesses must pay when they take on apprentices will be halved to just 5%, the chancellor has announced.

Philip Hammond told the Commons that SMEs must now only contribute 5% to the training, as part of a “£695 million package to support apprenticeships”.

As an apprentice candidate:

  • If you have an employer then we can talk to both of you about moving onto an Apprenticeship, or

  • We can talk to you about vacancies that are currently being advertised and help you to apply.


As an employer, we will:

  • Help you decide which Apprenticeship is right for you

  • Explain the way that Apprenticeships might work for you and if funding is available

  • Recruit an apprentice or support your existing staff into Apprenticeships

  • Agree a training plan with your apprentice

  • Manage the training and evaluation

  • Ensure that national quality standards are met and deliver integrated, coherent training.

Apprenticeships using the Frameworks are portfolio based and assessed throughout the apprenticeship. However, as the new Standards come in to force there will also be an End-point assessment.

End point Assessment (EPA)

When an apprentice approaches the end of their training, the employer and training provider will decide if the apprentice is ready to take the EPA – this decision process or stage is known as the “gateway”.

An EPA is a collection of assessments that offers confirmation of knowledge, skills and behaviours (known as KSBs) for a particular role. It takes place once the apprenticeship training has been completed, and the apprentice is deemed ready for EPA. The EPA must be achieved before an apprenticeship certificate can be issued.

Key points to note include:

  • an apprentice can’t complete and achieve their apprenticeship without passing the end-point assessment

  • the registered assessment organisation and the assessor must be independent of and separate from the training provider and the employer

  • the EPA organisation must be approved on the ESFA register of apprenticeship assessment organisations

  • EPA is separate to any qualifications or other assessment an apprentice may undertake during training.

Current Apprenticeships

  • Business Administration Level 2,3 & 4

  • Chef de Partie Level 2 & 3

  • Child Care    Level 2 & 3

  • Commis Chef Level 2 & 3

  • Customer Service            Level 2 & 3

  • Health & Social Care                  Level 2, 3 & 5

  • Hospitality Supervision Level 2 & 3

  • ICT                  Level 2, 3 & 4

  • Management Level 3 & 5

  • Retail                Level 2

  • Team Leading Level 2

  • Warehousing Level 2

For more information please contact us on 02085707766

New London Educational Trust


Sceptre House, 75-81

Staines Rd,

        Hounslow TW3 3HW,      

 United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)20 8570 7766

Open from Monday to Saturday

9.00 am to 6.00 pm

Evening classes

6.00 to 9.00 pm


Quick Links



New London Educational Trust (NLET)

Sceptre House, 75-81 Staines Road

Hounslow, London, TW3 3HW

United Kingdom


Tel: +44 (0)20 8570 7766


New London Educational Trust is a registered charity (Charity No. 1142105) and a company limited by guarantee

(Registered in England No. 06922966)

NLET is a PREVENT compliant organisation. For further information on the local PREVENT initiative please refer to